News Events

KCWA Cricket Cup 2024

Kuwait Canara Welfare Association (KCWA) held its first outdoor event of the year, “KCWA Cricket Cup 2024” on Friday, 16 February at UPL Grounds, Sulaibikhat – Kuwait.

The tournament began by invoking the Lord’s blessings led by Veena Serrao followed by a message from President Naveen Mascarenhas welcoming the teams, sponsors & guests gathered and requested their wholehearted participation in the tournament. President together with the Management Committee members played a few deliveries and declared the tournament open. Harry Fernandes led the opening ceremony.

The tournament was held in 3 categories with 4 teams in Men’s regulars, 3 Teams in Men’s veterans and 4 teams in Women’s Regulars. A total of 11 teams participated in the tournament. The event was held exclusively for KCWA members and their Families. Over 250 members witnessed this event.

Below were the registered teams and the results in their respective categories:

Regular Men

  • Canara XI
  • The Crusades Bejai
  • Kuwait Konkans

Team SKICC Defeated Canara XI to lift the coveted trophy.

Veterans Men

  • Warriors
  • Sharq United

Team SKICC Vet. won the trophy by defeating Sharq United Vet.

Regular Women

  • Infinity
  • Dare Devils
  • Red Sparks
  • Canara XI

Daredevils defeated Infinity to lift the winner’s trophy.

This year KCWA also awarded a trophy (Player of the Match) for the best performer in every league match.

The winners were as follows.


  • Warriors vs Sharq United- Ian Misquith (Sharq United)
  • SKICC vs Warriors – Ivan Gasper Pinto (SKICC)

Women’s Regular:

  • Red Sparks vs Dare Devils – Glenda Menezes (Dare Devils)
  • Infinity vs Canara XI – Sharon Zara Gonsalves (Infinity)
  • Dare Devils vs Cana XI – Precilla Dsouza (Dare Devils)
  • Infinity vs Red Sparks – Sharon Zara Gonsalves (Infinity)
  • Red Sparks vs Canara XI – Venisha Menezes (Red Sparks)
  • Infinity vs Dare Devils – Precilla Dsouza (Dare Devils)

Men’s Regular:

  • SKICC vs Kuwait Konkans – Joyal Rodrigues (SKICC)
  • The Crusades Bejai vs Canara X1 – Rayan Vishal D’Almeida ( CANARA XI )
  • SKICC vs The Crusades Bejai – Errel Jason Dsouza (SKICC)
  • Kuwait Konkan vs Canara XI – Nigel (Canara XI)
  • Kuwait Konkan vs The Crusades Bejai – Santosh Dcosta (The Crusades Bejai)

The Winners of the Player of the Finals were as follows.

D Prakash Fernandes (SKICC)

Men’s Regular
Errel Jason Dsouza (SKICC)

Women’s Regular
Glenda Menezes (Dare Devils)

The following players were recognized in 3 categories for their performances in the entire tournament

Men’s Regulars:

  • Best Batter – Joyal Rodrigues (SKICC)
  • Best Bowler – Jeevan Sachin Lewis (SKICC)
  • Player of the tournament – Errel Jason Dsouza (SKICC)

Men’s Veterans:

  • Best Batter – Roshan L. Menezes (SKICC)
  • Best Bowler – Ivan Gasper Pinto (SKICC)
  • Player of the tournament – Ivan Gasper Pinto (SKICC)

Regular Women:

  • Best Batter – Sharon Zara Gonsalves (Infinity)
  • Best Bowler – Flevia Dmello (Dare Devils)
  • Player of the Series – Sharon Zara Gonsalves (Infinity)

Walter Ranger, Ali, Babu, and Wilfred Lobo were the match officials for the day with Babu being the scoring official for the tournament along with Managing Committee members and volunteers.

Jayson Dsouza led the final presentation ceremony followed by a vote of thanks proposed by Sports Secretory Prakash Pinto.

KCWA honored Glenda Menezes, Suchita Dsa, and Candice Jerika Dais for being a part of Kuwait National Cricket Women’s team and representing it in various tournaments organized by the Asian Cricket Council and more recently their participation in the ACC Women’s Premier Cup 2024. Their achievements have instilled a sense of pride within the Mangalorean community. They were also requested to present the trophies along with Sponsors, the KCWA President and the Managing Committee members to the respective winners in various categories.

Amidst the rain pouring in, the event ended with the Managing Committee members singing a Hymn and praising the Almighty for a successful end to the ” KCWA Cricket Cup 2024″.

KCWA wholeheartedly like to thank the sponsors of the Event KIB Takaful Insurance Company, Steel United Factory – Mr. Prakash Gonsalves, Al Muzaini Exchange and Allan Joseph Pinto & Family. KCWA also extends their gratefulness to the UPL management committee for providing the grounds for the entire day.

Alban Dsouza Captured the moments for the day along with Allan Dsouza who provided everyone with the updates in social media. The Sounds system was provided by Roshan Rodrigues. KCWA thanks Shahi Tandoori Restaurant, Hawally for arranging the Breakfast and Lunch for the event.

The tournament was well-coordinated by Sports Secretary Prakash Pinto with the support of the Sports Committee, Managing Committee and Support Committee members.

Related posts

KCWA holds Talents Competition 2021


KCWA Family Picnic 2019


Mangalorean Jeson to heavenly Abode


Leave a Comment