News Events

KCWA Cricket Cup 2021

Kuwait Canara Welfare Association (KCWA) held its first outdoor event for the year, Cricket Cup 2021 on Friday, 24 September and concluding Match on 01 October at UPL Grounds, Sulaibikhat – Kuwait.

The tournament began by invoking Lord’s blessings by Sylvia D’Costa. President Ruth Clara Veigas welcomed the teams and guests and declared the tournament open. Opening ceremony being led by Rajesh Aranha.

The tournament was held in 4 categories with 7 teams for Men’s regulars and 3 Teams for Men’s veterans, 4 teams for Women’s Regulars and for the first time under 16 mixed categories introduced in which 3 teams participated. The event was held exclusively for KCWA members and over 200 members took part in the event.

Below are the registered teams and results :

Regular Men

  • Canara XI
  • KICC
  • MFC
  • Salmiya Friends A
  • Salmiya Friends B
  • Sharq United
  • Warrior XI

Team Sharq United Regular defeated team MFC by 8 wickets to lift the coveted trophy.

Veterans Men

  • KICC-Veterans
  • Salmiya Friends
  • Sharq United

Team Sharq United veterans won the trophy by defeating team Salmiya friends’ veterans by 3 runs.

Regular Women

  • Infinity
  • Lourdes
  • Red Sparks
  • Salmiya Stars

In the women’s final match team Infinity defeated team Salmiya Stars by 6 runs to lift the winner’s trophy.

Under 16

  • Falcons
  • Sharq United Rising Stars (SURS)
  • Warriors XI

Team Warriors XI defeated team Sharq United Rising Stars (SURS) by 25 runs to lift the trophy.

Man of the Match

  • Men’s Regulars: Nithin Saldanha (Sharq United)
  • Men’s Veterans: Fredrick Fernandes (Sharq United)
  • Regular Women: Joyce D’Souza (Infinity)
  • Under 16: Aaron Pinto (Warriors XI)

Kalappa K.S., Asad Godharwala, Antony Oliver Fernandes, Nigel D Souza, Rahul Kumar, Walter Renjar, Sunil Sumesh Mendonca, Austin D Cunha, Valerian Santhmayor, Prakash Pinto, Jayson D Souza, Rajesh Aranha and Walter Santhmayor were the umpires. Asad Godharwala, Nigel D Souza, Austin D Cunha, and Sunil Sumesh Mendonca were also the scorers along with Allan D Souza for the tournament.

KCWA Managing committee felicitated former Sports Secretary Mr. Alex Rego and his spouse Mrs. Margaret Rego for their continued support to KCWA, led by Arun Jossy D Souza. Also felicitated former Sports Secretary Lloyd Prashant D Souza for his achievement and service for Kuwait Cricket domestic leagues.

Dr. Manohar Prabhu handled the presentation ceremony. Lavina D Souza conducted spot games. Live streaming done by Benson Pereira and Allan D Souza. Live commentary done by Vinod Nevgi. Alban D Souza, Blen D Souza and Marvin Ferrao captured the event. Manoj Rego arranged delicious breakfast, lunch & canteen facilities through Shangri-la-Star Catering & Banquets Co. KCWA managing committee wholeheartedly would like to thank UPL management team for providing all the grounds.

KCWA Managing Committee takes this opportunity to thank main sponsors of the event KIB Takaful Insurance Company and Badr Al Samaa -Medical Centre, Farwaniya and all other Sponsors specially Tahani flowers – Salmiya. The tournament was well-coordinated by Sports Secretary Preetham D Souza with the support of Sports Committee, Managing Committee and supporting Committee.

Related posts

KCWA Cricket Cup 2024


Christmas Competitions 2023


KCWA celebrates Konkani Diwas 2024


Leave a Comment